APC in consideration S/East for Senate President, N/West, N/Central for Speaker


It comes amid claims that former minister Godswill Akpabio may give up his ambition to head the Senate.

There are indications that Akpabio may accept a cabinet position in the government of the elected president, Paula Tinubu.

Recall that Akpabio who intended to contest the presidency, during the presidential primaries of the APC, resigned to Tinubu who later won the party's ticket.

According to Vanguard, the sources who spoke with the platform revealed that Akpabio's intention to withdraw from the race is because APC decided to move the Senate President's office to the southeast.

Among the aspirants who have announced their intention to contest the position of President of the Senate are the whip President of the Senate, Orje Ozor Kalu; Jibreen Barao (north of Kano), Sani Musa (east of Niger) and Ali Ndume (south of Borno).

Among those on the list is the former governor of Zamfara state Abdelaziz Yari (Zamfara West). The Governor of Ebonyi State, David Omahi (Ebonyi South), and the former Governor of Edo State, Adams Oshiomhole (North Edo).

A source who spoke with Vanguard on condition of anonymity said the party leadership would soon announce zoning arrangements for all presidential positions and key offices in the Senate and House of Representatives.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post