Police Commission to Launch Board, Recruit 10,000 Personnel

Plans for further recruiting are in the works, according to Solomon Arase, chairman of the Police Service Commission (PSC).

No fewer than 10,000 new members would be hired for the Nigeria Police Force (NPF), according to Arase.

He said that the action was in accordance with one of President Bola Tinubu's campaign promises and was subject to presidential clearance.

The PSC director claimed on Monday that the commission's decision to establish an 11-member board to oversee hiring was a result of the recruitment process.

According to him, the board's newly appointed members, who were sworn in at the commission's offices, have the responsibility of identifying and announcing the NPF positions that need to be filled as well as developing procedures for each recruiting drive.

He continued by saying that in addition to other duties, the board is charged with choosing the online platform to be used for the recruitment of applicants, placement of advertorials in national dailies, and other means of disseminating information about the hiring process.

Arase announced that the hiring process would soon begin, adding that while finding qualified candidates with good morals and character is undoubtedly difficult, it can be facilitated by the support and cooperation of local authorities and traditional and religious institutions.

"Every Nigerian who is desirous of Police Reforms in our dear country is, therefore, urged to assist the Board during the recruitment exercise by ensuring that the bad apples in society are not foisted on the Board and/or allowed to covertly recruit into the NPF without informing the Board through whistle-blowing," he said.

Onyemuche Nnamani, the commissioner who represents the South East zone at the PSC, will serve as the board's chairperson. Olabode Akinbamilowo, a deputy commissioner of police, will act as the board's secretary.

The DIG Development Training Department of Police, Muhammed Magaji from the Ministry of Police Affairs, Ifeoma Anyanwutaku, the Permanent Secretary of the PSC, Prof. Joseph Olowofela from the FCC, and CP Hassan Yabanet, the Representative of Police Colleges, are additional members of the board.

Yusuf Sanusi of the PSC's Recruitment Department is another. Sani Usman Hada from the PSC's ICT unit, Barr. Victoria Onyekwuluije from the PSC's Legal Division, and DSP Ahanmisi Obehi from the PSC Chairman's Office.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post